BioLoop

Locally available, regenerative resources used as effectively as possible!

Contact 

🕿: +41 79 845 1255

🖂: hallo@bioloop.org

Naters, Wallis

© 2019 by BioLoop.

A hybrid diaper system that combines the comfort of the modern cloth diaper pants and the practical side of single use inserts that turn into black humus, minimizing waste and wastewater

DIAPER-SYSTEM

Reusable overpants with a waterproof inner pouch that can be replaced if necessary.  A disposable insert is placed in the inner pouch, which do not contain plastics or other non-compostable components.

  • There is a large selection of overpants from different manufacturers: here the cloth diaper systems play an important role, but without the cloth inserts!

  • The focus of the project "Nachwachsende Windeln" (Regenerative Diapers)  is on the inserts: to regenerate the valuable contents of baby excreta, to avoid waste and waste water as well as to support the parents to develop "diaper-free" children.

ABOUT THE LIFE CYCLE ASSESSMENT of conventional disposable and cloth diapers

From a scientific point of view, the environmental balance of disposable diapers and cloth diapers is roughly the same: considering the raw material and energy requirements during the manufacturing process as well as during transport, use and disposal (see studie by the British Environmental Protection Agency: Life Cycle Assesment of Disposable and Reusable Nappies in the UK, 2008​).

Why is that so? Apart from the important advantages of cloth diapers, such as no plastics and super absorbers content or better skin compatibility, cloth diapers nevertheless have the disadvantage of higher water and energy consumption:

  1. cotton needs a lot of water for its production, as long distance transport,

  2. washing at home

  3. to treat the waste water at the the sewage treatment plant: grit trap, oil trap, 5 purification stages, digestion and depending on the heavy metal load, the educt "dried sewage sludge granulate" is incinerated in a waste  incineration plant or a cement plant.

Disposable diaper: waste of resources

A baby is changed around 6000 times in 2.5 years = 1,2 t of waste to be incinerated

  • The average used disposable weighs in at 200g

  • Disposables diapers make up 5% - 45% of the domestic waste stream

  • Parents bear costs for diapers and waste disposal

Disposable diapers production:

  • Long transport routes

  • Composites: Super absorber polymeres, Polypropylene, Low Density Polyethylene, Fluff pulp, Adhesives

Due to the super absorber the child feels dry and may not feel the compelling need to be changed. There is way less motivation learning to understand the own corporal needs and to go to the toilette. Therefore the age of going diaper-free ranges from 2,5 up to 4 years.

BioLoop

Lokale verfügbare, regenerierbare Ressourcen so effektiv wie möglich nutzen!

Kontakt 

🕿: +41 79 845 1255

🖂: hallo@bioloop.org

Naters, Wallis

© 2019 by BioLoop.

Ein zusammengesetztes Windelsystem, das den Komfort der modernen Stoffwindelhosen und die praktische Seite von Einweg-Einsätzen kombiniert, sich in reichhaltige Erde zersetzen und damit Abfall und Abwasser minimieren

WINDEL-SYSTEM

Wiederverwendbare Überhosen mit einer wasserdichten Innenwindel, die bei Bedarf ausgewechselt werden kann. In die Innenwindel legt man eine 100% biologisch abbaubare Einwegeinlage.

  • Es gibt eine grosse Auswahl an Überhosen von verschiedenen Herstellern... hier spielen die Stoffwindel-Systeme eine wichtige Rolle (aber ohne deren Stoffeinlagen)!

  • Der Fokus des Projektes "Nachwachsende Windeln" liegt aber auf den Windeleinlagen: den wertvollen Inhalt von Baby Ausscheidungen zu verwerten, Abfall / Abwasser zu vermeiden, und die Eltern zu unterstützen, um "windelfreie" Kinder zu fördern.

ZU DER ÖKOBILANZ konventioneller Einweg- und Stoffwindeln

Wissenschaftlich betrachtet fällt die Umweltbilanz von Einwegwindeln und Stoffwindeln in etwa gleich aus, betrachtet man jeweils den Rohstoff- und Energiebedarf während des Herstellungsprozesses sowie bei Transport, Verwendung und Entsorgung (siehe Untersuchung des britischen Umweltamtes: Life Cycle Assesment of Disposable and Reusable Nappies in the UK, 2008​).

Warum ist das so? Abgesehen von den wichtigen Vorteilen der Stoffwindeln (keine Kunststoffe, keine Superabsorber, bessere Hautverträglichkeit), bringen Stoffwindeln dennoch als Nachteil einen höheren Wasser- und Energieverbrauch mit sich:

  1. Baumwolle braucht viel Wasser zur Herstellung und lange Transportwege,

  2. beim Waschen zu Hause,

  3. zur Klärung der Abwässer den Betrieb der Kläranlage (Wasser und Energie): Sandfang, Ölfang, 5 Reinigungsstufen, Faulung und je nach Schwermetallbelastung wird das Edukt "getrocknetes Klärschlamm-Granulat" in einer Kehrichtverbrennungsanlage oder einem Zementwerk verbrannt.

Einwegwindel: Ressourcenverschwendung

 Jedes Baby wird in 2.5 Jahren im Schnitt 6000 mal gewickelt = 1,2 t Abfälle, die verbrannt werden

  • 200 g Durchschnittliches Abfallgewicht:

  • Wegwerf-Windeln entsprechen 5% - 45% des anfallenden Hausmülls

  • Eltern tragen Kosten für Windeln und Entsorgung

Einwegwindeln Produktion:

  • Lange Transportwege

  • Verbundwerkstoffe: Superabsorber Polymere, Polypropylen, „Low Density Polyethylene“, „Fluff pulp“, Klebstoff

Durch den Superabsorber fühlt sich das Kind trocken an und spürt möglicherweise nicht das zwingende Bedürfnis gewickelt zu werden. Unbewusst kommt beim Kind viel weniger Motivation auf die eigenen körperlichen Bedürfnisse verstehen zu lernen und auf Toilette zu gehen. Daher liegt das Alter des windelfreien Gehens zwischen 2,5 und 4 Jahren